Ann Colvin and past scholarship winners

Ann Colvin and past scholarship winners

San Francisco Garden Club City College Student Awards (formerly Alice Eastwood Scholarships)

The club is devoted to nurturing future generations dedicated to the floral and environmental horticulture fields. Each year we award scholarships as part if a long-standing association with the City College of San Francisco's Environmental, Horticultural and Floristry Department.

In 1949 the Club was established the Alice Eastwood Scholarships at the City College of San Francisco to honor Alice Eastwood (1859-1953). She was the first woman curator of the herbarium at the California Academy of Sciences at a time when women did not hold high scientific appointments.

2015 Student Awards


  1. First place- Aimee O’Donnell Saunders
  2. Second place - Hee Joo
  3. Honorable Mentions - SoYeon Kim, Young Joo Pak, Caitlin Redpath, Tara Whitefield


  1. First place - Tie: Sungmoon Ryu, Celia Sisneros
  2. Second place - Patricia Fillingame

Nancy McNear Memorial Achievement Award: Julie Kyung Yun Kim

Behind this list of names lies a vast array of talent and a great body of diligent work. Each year the committee is faced with a strong field of candidates, making choices difficult. The winning students are congratulated and introduced at the Annual Meeting where they have a chance to meet and mingle with the membership.